Executive Education


16 Mar 2017

Celebrating excellence at the SBE’s Annual Dean's Awards Dinner 2017

The Dean being presented with a signed jersey by the Leicester Riders Basketball Team

The Dean's Awards Dinner is an annual event where the School comes together to celebrate the outstanding contributions made by staff, students and alumni.

The night started off with a moving tribute to SBE Professor Neil Doherty and Professor Emeritus Mark Hepworth, beloved members of staff who very sadly passed away recently.

In addition to recognising the achievements of staff, students and alumni, this awards dinner also focussed on the success of two of the School’s partners: Leicester Riders Basketball Team and Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team.

Last year was one of the most successful seasons in history of the Leicester Riders, which saw them winning both the British Basketball League and also the BBL Trophy. The School supports the club through scholarships, and as part of its corporate social responsibility work, it works with the Riders Foundation on the Leicester Young Offenders Programme and supports the ‘Hoops for Health’ work in the primary schools of Leicestershire.

2016 was also historic for the Nottingham Panthers when they become the first UK Ice Hockey team to win a major European Championship. The School supports the Panthers with scholarships and also works with them on a project together with Blue Bell Hill School in Nottingham.

As part of the School’s sponsorship with the two teams, a limited number of tickets are made available to School staff, with donations requested that then go to the School charity, ‘Action Homeless’ Leicester. This partnership with Action Homeless is one that the School is immensely proud of.

The Awards Dinner keynote speaker this year was Daryl Jelinek, Chief Commercial Officer & Vice President, Nature’s Bounty International.

The 2017 Dean’s Awards for Staff went to:

  • Researcher of the Year: Alberto Franco
  • Teacher of the Year (this year split between two candidates): Belinda Dewsnap and Ray Randall
  • Early Career Researcher of the Year: Martin Sykora
  • Early Career Teacher of the Year: Anna Raffoni
  • Impact on Practice: Alok Choudhary
  • Outstanding Contribution (Academic): Andrew Vivian
  • Outstanding Contribution (Non-Academic): Jen Housden

The 2017 Dean’s Awards for Students, designed to reflect some of the core values of the School and highlight the areas in which it excels (this year focusing on Enterprise and Employability), went to:

  • Dean's Award for Student Enterprise, supported by ByBox, to: Charlotte Slaney-Smith, Banking, Finance and Management BSc, and Amy Harris, Geography and Management BSc, for their start-up Subscription Street
  • Dean's Award for Student Employability to: Lydia Davey, Management Sciences BSc, Visual Merchandising Intern at L’Oreal (for the Kiehl’s brand)
  • Dean's Award for Doctoral Student of the Year to: Rachel Fuller

Following on from these awards were the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Awards, which were awarded to:

  • Mrs Patricia Jackson, BSc Economics Class of 1974 (In recognition of her outstanding service to economics and the banking industry)
  • Mr Tim Dyson - Next 15, BSc Management Sciences Class of 1984 (In recognition of extraordinary achievement and innovation in the communications field)
  • Laura Unsworth MBE - Team GB Hockey Player, BSc Accounting and Financial Management Class of 2013 (In recognition of her contribution and achievement in both university and world-class sport)

Professor Stewart Robinson, Dean of the School, said:

The School’s Annual Awards Dinner is a time to celebrate the success of our students, alumni and staff.  Each year it reminds us of the tremendous achievements of the past and present, and the potential for our future.