School of Business and Economics

Our alumni

Distinguished Alumni

All of our graduates are special and should be extremely proud of their achievements. Every autumn since 2012, the University has awarded Distinguished Alumni Awards to a select handful of graduates across the University who have demonstrated outstanding inspiration, merit, achievement or commitment in a particular role, or to society, education, knowledge and research.

The SBE Distinguished Alumni Award recipients to date include:

2018 Distinguished Alumni Awards

Paul Holohan (Loughborough MBA, 1996)

In recognition for his 30 years of experience in the printing and packaging industry at CEO and Managing Director level.

Michael Tye (BSc Management Sciences, 1976)

In recognition for his successful and transformative career in the retail industry.

Andrew King (Loughborough MBA, 2005)

He was recognised for his exceptional contribution to the food and beverage industry.

2017 Distinguished Alumni Awards

Gay Deuchar (BA Business Administration with a Modern Language,1980)

International Tax Partner, EY

In recognition of her outstanding commitment to coaching and mentoring women in business.

Louise Cooke (BSc Management Sciences, 1986)

CEO, Parmalat, Africa

In recognition of her outstanding loyalty to the fast moving consumer goods industry.

Jill Ross (BSc Retail Management, 1997)

Managing Director, Accenture

In recognition of her outstanding contribution to the retail consulting industry.

2016 Distinguished Alumni Awards


Tim Dyson (BSc Management Sciences, 1984)

Global CEO, Next 15

In recognition of extraordinary achievement and innovation in the communications field.

Patricia Jackson (BSc Economics, 1974)

Non-Executive Director, Atom Bank

In recognition of her outstanding service to economics and the banking industry.

Laura Unsworth MBE (BSc Accounting and Financial Management, 2013)

Team GB Hockey Player

In recognition of her contribution and achievement in both university and world-class sport.

2015 Distinguished Alumni Awards

Sarah Branquinho (BA French, German and Economics, 1978)

Corporate Communications and External Affairs Director, World Duty Free

In recognition of her outstanding career and services to travel retail.

Tony DeNunzio (BA Business Administration and Language, 1982)

Non-Executive Chairman, Pets at Home Plc.

In recognition of his outstanding career and global business leadership.



Ian Shepardson (BSc Banking and Finance, 1988; PhD Economics, 1993)

Chief Economist, Pantheon Macroeconomics

In recognition of his outstanding career and contribution to economics.

2014 Distinguished Alumni Awards

Nick Bunker (BA, Business Administration and French, 1986)

CEO, KP Snacks

In recognition of extraordinary achievement in the fast-moving consumer goods industry.

Andrew Fisher (BSc Economics, 1991)

Executive Chairman, Shazam

In recognition of his outstanding leadership of a technologically innovative business.

Paul Philpott (BSc Banking and Finance, 1988)

President and CEO, Kia Motors (UK and Ireland)

In recognition of extraordinary achievement and innovation in the motor industry.

2013 Distinguished Alumni Awards

John Dunford (BSc Economics and Accounting, 1981)

Chief Executive, Bourne Leisure

In recognition of his outstanding leadership and ability to motivate others.

Martin Strzelecki (BSc Economics with Econometrics, 1978)

Joint Chief Executive, Henri-Lloyd Limited

In recognition of his outstanding achievement and contribution to further developing an innovative retail business.

Jean Tomlin OBE (BSc Economic History and Sociology, 1977)

CEO, Chanzo; Board Member and Chair of the Corporate Responsibility Committee, J Sainsbury Plc

In recognition of her outstanding contribution to human resource management and her commitment to corporate social responsibility.

2012 Distinguished Alumni Awards


Mark Brown (BSc Economics, 1984)

Chief Executive Officer, Canaccord Genuity Limited

In recognition of his contribution to the finance industry and investment banking strategy.

Peter Dawkins (BSc Economics, 1975)

Vice Chancellor and President of Victoria University

In recognition of his contribution and commitment to economic and social policy issues.

Christine Hodgson (BSc Accounting and Financial Management, 1987)

Chairman, CapGemini UK

In recognition of her commitment to inspiring women in business.

Stuart Miller (BSc Management Sciences, 1990)

Chief Executive Officer and Founder of ByBox

In recognition of outstanding achievement in enterprising business.

Percy Mistry (B.Tech, Industrial Engineering and Management, 1969

Non-Executive Directorship with J P Morgan Emerging Markets Investment Trust; Senior Advisor with Europa Partners Ltd

In recognition of his dedication and extraordinary vision in developing innovative approaches in international finance.

Jeff Prestridge (Bsc Economics, 1980)

Financial Journalist (Personal Finance Editor, Mail on Sunday)

In recognition of his commitment and contribution to personal consumer finance.