Department of Materials


Professor Sanjay Rastogi MSc, PhD

Photo of Professor Sanjay Rastogi

Professor of Polymer Technology


Sanjay completed his MSc and PhD in the Department of Physics at Lucknow University (India). He spent four years as a Research Associate at the University of Bristol, UK. He then worked for one year as an Assistant Professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi before joining as Assistant Professor followed by promotion to Associate Professor at Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands. Sanjay was then on a sabbatical for a year at Max Planck Institute for Polymers, Mainz. He joined Loughborough University in September 2006. At present he is affiliated with Eindhoven University of Technology and visiting scientist at Max Planck Institute for Polymers, Mainz. At present Sanjay is on secondment to Teijin Aramid, Arnhem, NL where he is transferring the know-how of a solvent free route to develop high modulus, high strength polymers.


  • MSc in Physics
  • PhD in Polymer Physics

Key awards:

  • Oct. 2003 – Sept 2004 Max Planck Society Fellowship, Germany
  • DPI Innovation award for the years 2003, 2004 and 2005


Outline of main research interests:

  • Molecular architecture by controlled synthesis
  • Morphology development during polymerisation
  • Resultant polymer physics
  • Rheology to achieve the ultimate mechanical and physical properties for high demanding applications
  • Chain dynamics in thermodynamically metastable polymer melts
  • Aaorphous state in semi-crystalline polymers
  • Flow induced crystallization
  • Hydrogen bonding in synthetic and bio-polymers
  • Ultimate fibres and tapes for high demanding applications
  • Conducting polymers

Grants and contracts:

  • Dispersion of fillers in engineering polymers for thermal electrical and rheological properties (FEPTER) – Studentship, DPI, 2007-2009
  • Keratins as Cheap Feestock for Novel Self-Organising Oligomers and Polymers, DPI, 2007-2009
  • Synthesis and characterization of disentangled UHMWPE for high intencity and high modulus fibres and/or tapes - 2 yr extension, Teijin Twaron, 2007-2011
  • Role of entanglements on the flow behaviour of polyolefins, DPI, 2007-2011


Current teaching responsibilities:

  • MPP111 – Polymer Properties
  • MPC007 – Polymer Properties and Processing
  • MPB202 – Processing and Structure of Polymers and Composites
  • MPP355 – Structural Properties of Polymers
  • MPB104 – Advanced Materials Characterization

Recent publications: 

47 Journal and refereed conference papers have been published, 9 patents have been filed, 8 PhD students  have been supervised, in the last 5 years. Some relevant papers are:

  • “Pressure induced amorphization and disordering on cooling in a crystalline polymer”. S. Rastogi, M. Newman, A. Keller; Nature (London) 1991, 353, 55-57; News and Views section  Nature (vol 404) 9th March 2000 pages 134-135
  • “Heterogeneity in polymer melts”,Sanjay Rastogi, Dirk Lippits, Gerrit Peters, Robert Graf, Yao Yefeng, Hans Spiess; Nature Materials 2005, 4, 635-641..
  • “Melting Kinetics in Polymers”; Dirk Lippits, Sanjay Rastogi, Gunther Hoehne, Physical Review Letters 2006, 96,218303-218307.
  • Crystallisation and dissolution of flow induced precursors; Physical Review Letters 2008, 100(4), 048302-04.

 View central publications database


External roles and appointments:

  • Principal Scientist, Teijin Aramid, Arnhem, Netherlands (on secondment)
  • Visiting Professor, Eindhoven University, The Netherlands
  • Visiting Scientist, Max Planck Institute for Polymers, Germany
  • Senior Fellow & Program Co-ordinator, Dutch Polymer Institute (DPI), Netherlands
  • Principal project leader of two long term projects at European Synchrotron Radiation Facility, Grenoble, France
  • Member of scientific advisory committee at Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Oxford
  • In committees of PhDs,  University of Amsterdam, Physics department
  • Member of editorial advisory board of European Polymer Journal; Elsevier Science
  • A member of the beam line review committee of European Synchrotron Radiation