Department of Materials


15 Aug 2019

Materials Graduation 2019

On 18th July, a lovely sunny day, Department of Materials Graduands at Loughborough University gathered together with friends, family and staff from the Department to celebrate their imminent graduation.

Visitors and staff enjoyed a buffet lunch with Pimms whilst discussing students’ plans for the future and reminiscing over their experiences within the department and Loughborough University. Some students are going into industry, whilst others are planning on taking some time out to do some travelling, and four students are returning soon to start a PhD with us.

As well as a celebratory lunch, Departmental Prizes were presented:

Jason Ye x 300



Ross Menzies Prize: to be awarded to the best student in the final year of a Department of Materials first degree programme: Jason Ye

Armourers and Brasiers’ Innovative Materials Prize: awarded to the final year student with the most innovative individual materials project in the view of the Programme Board.  This prize will encourage innovative thinking in project design and reward students who are exploring the cutting edge of materials science: Jason Ye

Peter Thompson x 300






Armourers and Brasiers’ Industrial Placement Prize: awarded to the student who has performed best on their Industrial Placement year.  Students will be judged on their performance through graded placement reports by academic industrial supervisors. This prize will encourage strong links with industry and reward the student showing the most professional commitment and promise: Peter Thompson

Niall Burtt x 300







 John Goodwin Memorial Prize: awarded to the undergraduate student attaining the highest marks for a final year project: Niall Burtt

Matt Cowland x 300










Morgan Advanced Materials Prize: awarded for the best undergraduate project: Matthew Cowland

Grp prize 2019 grad x 300







John Goodwin Memorial Prize: for the best group project, normally on the MEng programme. Tanjeeve Cheema, Matthew Cowland, Lauren Grundy, Oscar Smith, Yao Sun and Jason Ye



HIVE Composites Ltd Prize: awarded to the final year student with the best assignment on polymer composites as judged by Hive Composite Solutions Ltd: Vipavinee Youttananukorn

Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (Midlands Group) Susan Panteny Prize for the Best Polymer Project: awarded to the student producing the best project on a polymer topic for an accredited degree: Sam Grisa

Tinplate Workers Design Prize: awarded to the final year student with the best individual design project in the view of the Programme Board: Desai Athanaze

Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining Prize: awarded to the student achieving best overall performance during the whole period of the undergraduate programme in Materials Engineering: Desai Athanaze

Our congratulations go out to all of our Graduates – it has been an absolute pleasure working with you all!  We wish you all that you wish for yourselves for the future and we look forward to hearing about your successes in engineering!