About the University

Who we are

Hazlerigg building

Our structure

Loughborough University has nine academic schools, over 100 research groups, institutes and centres, and over 35 professional services teams.

Department overview

Our management

The most senior staff at the University are its Officers. Loughborough's Chancellor is the formal principal officer.

The Chancellor is also an ex-officio member of the University Council and confers degrees on Loughborough’s graduates. Lord Sebastian Coe was nominated as the University's Chancellor in March 2017.

The day-to-day running of the University is the responsibility of the Vice Chancellor and President, who is the academic and executive head. Professor Robert Allison was appointed as the University’s eighth Vice Chancellor in September 2012.

The Vice Chancellor works closely with the Academic Leadership Team which includes: the Provost and Deputy Vice Chancellor, three Pro Vice Chancellors, the Chief Operating Officer, the Director of Finance and eleven School Deans. He also works closely with other senior officers.

For further information visit the Vice Chancellors website.


The University Council is the governing body, responsible for the University's finances, buildings and land. It is the official employer of all staff and meets several times a year. Its Chairman is the Senior Pro Chancellor, Sir Peter Bonfield.


The University Senate is responsible for the academic work of the University, including programmes, examinations, teaching and research quality. Its membership is drawn from the University.