IT ServicesStaff

Mobile Devices

Mobile Phone Procurement

Procedure and Policy Key Points

Gamma Telecom Ltd has been appointed as the university’s sole approved supplier for Mobile Telephones and Data Services, following the decision to move to a single supplier in 2017. The mandatory contracts pages have been updated to reflect this, Mandatory Contracts IT and Telecoms.

Please find a copy of the new Mobile Phone Policy linked below, and a summary of its keys points here: 

Key Points: 

  • Two options will now be available for SIMs.  The standard SIM will provide unlimited texts and calls plus 3GB data, there is also a simple SIM for just calls and text.
  • All mobiles will be transfered onto the new contract at the end of their current term.
  • Pay as you go SIMs will be available if required
  • The new policy should be applied to all new requirements as well as verifying the needs of currrent mobile phone users.

Everything you need to know about switching providers...

How do I switch my current number to the new provider?

At this present time only current numbers which are 'out of contract' will be transferred to the new Gamma service, any remaining numbers will be moved as and when their current contract ends. The process of switching all current numbers over to the new Gamma service will be facilitated by each departments 'Daily Contact' and the Management Support Office (MSO) within IT Services. 

Information for Daily Contacts regarding moving: 

Actions required by Management Support Office (MSO) / Daily Contacts:

Daily Contacts to update the list of their current active numbers (including tablet devices)

  1. IT Services will pilot the porting process and provide Dept/School with further information on steps to follow.
  2. MSO will provide you with a list of your “out of contract users” for which you will need to request PAC and unlocking codes and update the list with this information
  3. MSO will contact you to schedule a porting date
  4. MSO provide Gamma with all the information they need to carry out the port

 Updated responsibilities:

  1. IT Services will now be responsible for any bills under the new Gamma service.  Departments remain responsible for any numbers which remain under the original suppliers (O2, EE or Vodafone) until those numbers are out of contract and transferred to the new Gamma service.
  2. Handsets - All handsets will need to be purchased from your Dept/School budget for the time being.  Our recommended supplier is Academia and I am in the process of getting a phone list to provide everyone with details of preferred models. 

Need a new connection?  

All new connections will now be provided through our Gamma Service. Your departments 'Daily Contact' will be able to help you with this and orders will then be placed through the MSO team in IT Services, similar to the old process. Please see the ''Ordering' tab below for further information. 

Information for Mobile Phone Users and Departments Daily Contacts

Each department has a mobile phone 'Daily Contact' who should be all mobile phone users first port of call with any questions, issues and requests. 

Who is my Departments Daily Contact(s)? 

Professional Services

Department

Daily Contact 

Position

Email

Campus Living Stephen Bailey    s.p.bailey@lboro.ac.uk
Careers and Employability Leanne Rowbottom   L.Rowbottom@lboro.ac.uk
Tracey Walker   T.H.Walker@lboro.ac.uk
Change Team Sarah Waterfield Admin Support Officer S.L.Waterfield@lboro.ac.uk
Creative and Print Services Marc Smith Business Assistant m.smith7@lboro.ac.uk
Enterprise Office Bhavna Patel Team Secretary B.Patel@lboro.ac.uk 
Health & Safety Service  Lynda Langford Administrator L.Langford@lboro.ac.uk
International Office

Danielle Jarvis

(currently on maternity leave)

Senior International Assistant D.L.Jarvis@lboro.ac.uk
Helen Towle Senior International Assistant h.towle2@lboro.ac.uk
IT Services Sharon Kitson Project Support Manager S.L.Kitson@lboro.ac.uk 
Sophie Currie Management Support Officer S.Currie@lboro.ac.uk 
Marketing and Advancement Hellen McCullum Operations Officer H.D.McCullam@lboro.ac.uk
Research Office Janine Bates Administrative Officer j.bates@lboro.ac.uk

Sports Development Centre (SDC)
Angela Johnston Admin Support Officer A.E.Johnston@lboro.ac.uk 
Sandra Jackson Admin Support Officer S.L.Jackson@lboro.ac.uk 
Nila Patel Finance Officer N.Patel2@lboro.ac.uk 
SRMA Alex Skewis Outreach Assistant A.L.Skewis@lboro.ac.uk
Staff Development/HR June Walton Admin Team Leader J.R.Walton@lboro.ac.uk 
Student Support Centre Deborah Deoraj-Boyd Support Systems Manager D.D.Deoraj-Boyd@lboro.ac.uk 
Kirti Mistry Administrator K.Mistry2@lboro.ac.uk 
Vice Chancellors Office (VCO) Kim Schofield PA to Vice Chancellors Office Senior Managers K.Schofield@lboro.ac.uk 
Janet Wilkinson Vice Chancellors Office Manager J.Wilkinson@lboro.ac.uk 
Elaine Leadley-Jackson   e.a.leadley-jackson@lboro.ac.uk

Schools

Department

Daily Contact 

Position

Email

Design School Linda Anderson Clerical Assistant Ds.finance@lboro.ac.uk
Jayshree Lodhia Finance Manager Ds.finance@lboro.ac.uk
Loughborough University, London Jon Linnell Senior Support Officer J.Linnell@lboro.ac.uk
School of AACME Ann Cage Finance Support Officer A.Cage@lboro.ac.uk 
Charlotte Hammond Finance Support Administrator C.A.Hammond@lboro.ac.uk 
Emma Jackson Support Administrator E.R.Jackson@lboro.ac.uk 
Rhian Watt Support Administrator R.Watt@lboro.ac.uk 
Lynn Branham Finance Support Administrator l.branham@lboro.ac.uk
School of Arts Becki Turlington-Smith School Finance Officer r.turlington-smith@lboro.ac.uk 
School of Business and Economics Simon Mee Assistant Systems Manager S.J.Mee2@lboro.ac.uk
Dawn Brown Finance Officer D.E.Brown@lboro.ac.uk
School of Civil and Building Engineering Jayshree Lakha Operations Support Co-ordinator/PA to Dean of School J.lakha@lboro.ac.uk
Sara Cowin Centre Administrator S.Cowin@lboro.ac.uk 
School of Science Elena Heaviside Team Supervisor E.Heaviside@lboro.ac.uk
School of SPGS Sue Clarke Finance Administrator S.N.Clarke@lboro.ac.uk
SSEHS  Ramesh Mistry Computer Systems Manager R.Mistry@lboro.ac.uk
Carl Shaw  Computer Systems Manager C.Shaw@lboro.ac.uk
Wolfson School Celyne Celien School Finance Officer C.Velien@lboro.ac.uk 
Pam Lewis School Finance Officer p.e.lewis1@lboro.ac.uk
Deborah French School Finance Officer d.m.french@lboro.ac.uk
Helen Clarke School Finance Officer h.j.clarke@lboro.ac.uk
Marcela Garner School Finance Officer m.garner@lboro.ac.uk
Alison Flitten School Finance Officer a.c.flitten@lboro.ac.uk

Departments 'Daily Contacts' are Authorised to:

All mobile users are authorised to call providers directly to obtain general information relating to their phone (not including billing information)

However, a password will be required to ensure you are not calling regarding a lost phone. Please speak to your departments 'daily contact' as your first point of call in most instances, they have addition authorisation with the university providers, as follows: 

Gamma Telecom Ltd

  • Obtain general information
  • Obtain PAC codes
  • Obtain PUK codes
  • Obtain handset unlocking codes
  • Raise orders, via MSO team in IT Services, to be placed 

Old Providers (O2, EE, Vodafone):

  • Obtain billing information
  • Obtain general information
  • Obtain PAC codes
  • Obtain PUK codes
  • Obtain handset unlocking codes
  • Authorised to add/remove services and products e.g. increase data bundles
  • Handset/phone information including warranty details and carry out diagnostics

Provider Contact Details

Contact Gamma (The University's New Supplier)

Gamma offer a Customer Support Centre (CSC) will provide access to support for Gamma services 24x7. Gamma CSC is a helpdesk to helpdesk function and requires the initial incident to be raised by the Customer's helpdesk/IT service provider.

Methods of Contact:

Email Address: Mobile.Faults@gamma.co.uk

Telephone number: 0333 014 0333

Contact the University's Old Providers (O2, EE and Vodafone)

Vodafone

Telephone number: 0333 304 3333

Email address:  Regional@help.vodafone.co.uk

Account number:  670045603 

EE

Telephone number: 0800 0790 201

Email address: publicsector.keyaccounts@ee.co.uk

Account number: 72318 

O2

Telephone number: 0113 388154 / 08009020213

Email address: publicservice@o2.com

PIN:  63401

Tariff Information and Device Specification

Tariff Information: 

Voice and Data SIM:

  • 1000 texts
  • 3000 minutes
  • 3GB data

Voice Only SIM:

  • 1000 texts
  • 3000 minutes 

Data Only SIM:

  • 3G Data

Hardware (Phone, tablets etc): 

Each Department/School are responsible for purchasing handset currently. Our recommended supplier is Academia and a full list of preferred model will shortly be available. 

Information of available iPhones can be found on the Academia Apple catalogue, found here.  

Please note that there is now a mandatory £7 charge for engraving 'Property of Loughborough University' on all Apple orders going forward - please account for this on your purchase orders.  

(Agresso supplier number S10679)

Placing New Orders

For all new connections please contact your Departments 'daily contact', they will then help place order for hardware and facilitate the order for your number/SIM card. 

SIM Cards/Numbers:

'Daily contacts' can order the SIM card for new connections with Gamma through the MSO team. Please send the following information to MSO@lboro.ac.uk:

  1. Delivery address for SIM
  2. Tariff  (Data/No data)
  3. Name of user 

Please note that new aims will take 48 hours to arrive.

Handsets:

Each Department/School are currently responsible for purchasing handsets. Our recommended supplier is Academia and a full list of preferred model will shortly be available. 

Information of available iPhones can be found on the Academia Apple catalogue, found here.  

Please note that there is now a mandatory £7 charge for engraving 'Property of Loughborough University' on all Apple orders going forward - please account for this on your purchase orders.  

(Agresso supplier number S10679)

 

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the ordering and delivery timeframes?

Ordering Timeframes: 

Once your order has been submitted to the MSO team in IT Services your order will be placed within 3-4 working days. 

Orders are submitted by your department's 'daily contact' - please see 'Department Daily Contact' tab for further infomation 

Delivery Timeframes: 

Gamma have an agreed to the following:

  • We will confirm to you once the order has been processed and accepted to ensure your expected delivery date is set.
  • SIM cards will then arrive to your specified delivery address within 48hrs.
  • Orders will be delivered to your business address using our courier between 7.30am – 5.30pm, and all parcels can be tracked via the courier’s website.
  • To avoid any fraudulent use of the SIM card, all SIMs are sent inactive. In order to make the service live the end user should contact Gamma to activate the mobile service. Once activated, all SIMs will automatically have a bar on both international and roaming usage which can be removed upon request, or with the addition of a Roaming bolt-on.

Can my data allowance be capped or increased?

All data plans have 3GB limit, this is not capped but is monitored within IT Services and excessive usage will be flagged with departments. 

If you need to go over the limit you notified by text, please use Wi-Fi where ever possible. 

What if I have poor reception with our new provider?

Gammas MultiNet® Service is available on request if you are experiencing signal issue on the 3Network. 

The MultiNet® Service gives a user the ability to ‘roam’ onto other UK mobile networks. Charge for this service is an additional £7.49 a month. 

If the user enters an area of poor signal coverage on the primary network and another network is available, the SIM will roam to another provider. Once the user leaves the poor signal area then the SIM card will re-connect to the primary network once the current call has been completed.

Please note the call will drop when the network being used loses coverage before it picks up the next best signal.

When roaming off the primary access network, a user can access 2G, 3G and 4G, depending on which type of connection and service is available from the secondary network. The following minimum device specifications are required for this service:

Make Model
iPhone 4 and above using iOS 7.12 and above
LG G3
Motorola MOTO G and Above
Nokia 301
Samsung Galaxy range S4 or later, Frame, Note
Windows Lumia 540





Who do I contact if my handset if damaged, lost or stolen?

Please your department's 'daily contact' (see 'Department Daily Contact' tab) in the first instance, they will be able to work with the MSO team in IT Services if necessary (MSO@lboro.ac.uk). 

If they are not available you could contact:

Gamma offer a Customer Support Centre (CSC) will provide access to support for Gamma services 24x7. Gamma CSC is a helpdesk to helpdesk function and requires the initial incident to be raised by the Customer's helpdesk/IT service provider.

Methods of Contact:

Email Address: Mobile.Faults@gamma.co.uk

Telephone number: 0333 014 0333

Do I have to return my handset if I leave the university?

Yes, your phone handset remains university property, please hand your phone back to your departments 'daily contact' - please see 'Department Daily Contact' tab for further information. 

Can I upgrade my handset to the latest model?

If you require a new handset please speak to your departments 'daily contact' (see 'Department Daily Contact' tab). 

Each Department/School are responsible for purchasing handset currently. Our recommended supplier is Academia and a full list of preferred model will shortly be available. 

Information of available iPhones can be found on the Academia Apple catalogue, found here.  

Please note that there is now a mandatory £7 charge for engraving 'Property of Loughborough University' on all Apple orders going forward - please account for this on your purchase orders.  

How do I cancel my contract if it is no longer needed?

Please your department's 'daily contact' (see 'Department Daily Contact' tab) in the first instance, they will be able to facilitate the return of your handset and work with the MSO team in IT Services (MSO@lboro.ac.uk) to cancel your number/connection with Gamma. 

Is the 'Roam like Home' service included in my monthly contract with Gamma?

Yes - all our providers/contracts include the 'Roam like Home' service at up to 60 destinations around the world.

Please follow the below links to see what countries are included with your provider: 

Gamma: www.three.co.uk/feel-at-home

O2: www.o2.co.uk/help/pay-monthly/roaming-in-europe

Vodafone: List of 'Roam-free' countries. For further information, click HERE 

EE: Full Information and list of included destinations