IT ServicesStaff

Mobile Devices

Mobile Phone Procurement

Procedure and Policy Key Points

IT Services are currently in the process of finalising the new university’s sole supplier for Mobile Telephones and Data Services, following the decision to move to a single supplier in 2017. Once appointed comms will be circulate to each departments 'daily contact' and to the wider University. 

In the interim please refer the the below tabs for information on who your departments 'daily contact' is; what to do if you have an issue with your current contract or phone; how to order a new connection; etc. 

Please find a copy of the new Mobile Phone Policy linked below, and a summary of its keys points here: 

Key Points: 

  • All mobiles will be transferred onto the new contract at the end of their current term.
  • Pay as you go SIMs will be available if required.
  • The new policy should be applied to all new requirements as well as verifying the needs of current mobile phone users.

Everything you need to know about switching providers...

How do I switch my current number to the new provider?

Only current numbers which are 'out of contract' will be transferred to the new provider once finalised, any remaining numbers will be moved as and when their current contract ends. The process of switching all current numbers over to the new provider will be facilitated by each departments 'Daily Contact' and the Management Support Office (MSO) within IT Services. 

Information for Daily Contacts regarding moving: 

The MSO team in IT Services will contact all daily contacts with full instructions when it is time to move your department over to our new provider. If you have any questions in the meantime please contact the MSO team via email (mso@lboro.ac.uk)

 Updated responsibilities:

  1. IT Services will now be responsible for any bills under the new provider.*  Departments remain responsible for any numbers which remain under the original suppliers/contracts until those numbers are out of contract and transferred to the new agreement. (*contracts as part of Research Projects will be recharged to the research budget code each month) 
  2. All handsets will need to be purchased from Dept/School budget - Our recommended supplier is Academia and a full list of preferred models is available on request.  

Need a new connection?  

If you require a new connection please contact your departments 'Daily Contact', who will be able to help you with this. Orders will then be placed through the MSO team in IT Services, similar to the old process. Please see the 'Ordering' tab below for further information. 

Information for Mobile Phone Users and Departments Daily Contacts

Each department has a mobile phone 'Daily Contact' who should be all mobile phone users first port of call with any questions, issues and requests. 

Who is my Departments Daily Contact(s)? 

Professional Services

Department

Daily Contact 

Position

Email

Campus Living Stephen Bailey    s.p.bailey@lboro.ac.uk
Careers and Employability Leanne Rowbottom   L.Rowbottom@lboro.ac.uk
Tracey Walker   T.H.Walker@lboro.ac.uk
Change Team Sarah Waterfield Admin Support Officer S.L.Waterfield@lboro.ac.uk

Counselling and Disability Services

Ann Hall

Disability Support Administrator 

A.E.Hall@lboro.ac.uk
Creative and Print Services Marc Smith Business Assistant m.smith7@lboro.ac.uk
Enterprise Office Bhavna Patel Team Secretary B.Patel@lboro.ac.uk 
Health & Safety Service  Lynda Langford Administrator L.Langford@lboro.ac.uk
International Office

Danielle Jarvis

(currently on maternity leave)

Senior International Assistant D.L.Jarvis@lboro.ac.uk
Helen Towle Senior International Assistant h.towle2@lboro.ac.uk
IT Services Sharon Kitson Project Support Manager S.L.Kitson@lboro.ac.uk 
Sophie Currie Management Support Officer S.Currie@lboro.ac.uk 
LU Arts  Leah Henrickson Finance Administrator  Financeluarts@lboro.ac.uk
Marketing and Advancement Hellen McCullum Operations Officer H.D.McCullam@lboro.ac.uk
Research Office Janine Bates Administrative Officer j.bates@lboro.ac.uk

Sports Development Centre (SDC)
Angela Johnston Admin Support Officer A.E.Johnston@lboro.ac.uk 
Sandra Jackson Admin Support Officer S.L.Jackson@lboro.ac.uk 
Nila Patel Finance Officer N.Patel2@lboro.ac.uk 
SRMA Alex Skewis Outreach Assistant A.L.Skewis@lboro.ac.uk
Staff Development/HR June Walton Admin Team Leader J.R.Walton@lboro.ac.uk 
Student Support Centre Deborah Deoraj-Boyd Support Systems Manager D.D.Deoraj-Boyd@lboro.ac.uk 
Kirti Mistry Administrator K.Mistry2@lboro.ac.uk 
Vice Chancellors Office (VCO) Kim Schofield PA to Vice Chancellors Office Senior Managers K.Schofield@lboro.ac.uk 
Janet Wilkinson Vice Chancellors Office Manager J.Wilkinson@lboro.ac.uk 
Elaine Leadley-Jackson   e.a.leadley-jackson@lboro.ac.uk

Schools

Department

Daily Contact 

Position

Email

Design School Linda Anderson Clerical Assistant Ds.finance@lboro.ac.uk
Jayshree Lodhia Finance Manager Ds.finance@lboro.ac.uk
Loughborough University, London Jon Linnell Senior Support Officer J.Linnell@lboro.ac.uk
School of AACME Ann Cage Finance Support Officer A.Cage@lboro.ac.uk 
Charlotte Hammond Finance Support Administrator C.A.Hammond@lboro.ac.uk 
Emma Jackson Support Administrator E.R.Jackson@lboro.ac.uk 
Rhian Watt Support Administrator R.Watt@lboro.ac.uk 
Lynn Branham Finance Support Administrator l.branham@lboro.ac.uk
School of Arts Becki Turlington-Smith School Finance Officer r.turlington-smith@lboro.ac.uk 
School of Business and Economics Simon Mee Assistant Systems Manager S.J.Mee2@lboro.ac.uk
Dawn Brown Finance Officer D.E.Brown@lboro.ac.uk
School of Civil and Building Engineering Jayshree Lakha Operations Support Co-ordinator/PA to Dean of School J.lakha@lboro.ac.uk
Sara Cowin Centre Administrator S.Cowin@lboro.ac.uk 
School of Science Elena Heaviside Team Supervisor E.Heaviside@lboro.ac.uk
School of SPGS Sue Clarke Finance Administrator S.N.Clarke@lboro.ac.uk
Louise Lee   L.Lee2@lboro.ac.uk
SSEHS  Ramesh Mistry Computer Systems Manager R.Mistry@lboro.ac.uk
Carl Shaw  Computer Systems Manager C.Shaw@lboro.ac.uk
Wolfson School Celyne Celien School Finance Officer C.Velien@lboro.ac.uk 
Pam Lewis School Finance Officer p.e.lewis1@lboro.ac.uk
Deborah French School Finance Officer d.m.french@lboro.ac.uk
Helen Clarke School Finance Officer h.j.clarke@lboro.ac.uk
Marcela Garner School Finance Officer m.garner@lboro.ac.uk
Alison Flitten School Finance Officer a.c.flitten@lboro.ac.uk

Departments 'Daily Contacts' are Authorised to:

All mobile users are authorised to call providers directly to obtain general information relating to their phone (not including billing information)

However, a password will be required to ensure you are not calling regarding a lost phone. Please speak to your departments 'daily contact' as your first point of call in most instances, they have additional authorisation with the university providers, as follows: 

  • Obtain billing information (For connections prior to Sep 17)
  • Obtain general information
  • Obtain PAC codes
  • Obtain PUK codes
  • Obtain handset unlocking codes
  • Authorised to add/remove services and products e.g. increase data bundles (For connections prior to Sep 17)
  • Handset/phone information including warranty details and carry out diagnostics
  • Raise orders, via MSO team in IT Services, to be placed 

Provider Contact Details

EE

Telephone number: 0800 0790 201

Email address: publicsector.keyaccounts@ee.co.uk

Account number: 72318 

Gamma

Gamma offer a Customer Support Centre (CSC) which provides access to support for Gamma services 24x7. Gamma CSC is a 'helpdesk to helpdesk' function and requires the initial incident to be raised by the Customer's helpdesk/IT service provider.

Methods of Contact:

Email Address: Mobile.Faults@gamma.co.uk

Telephone number: 0333 014 0333

O2

Telephone number: 0113 388154 / 08009020213

Email address: publicservice@o2.com

PIN:  63401

Vodafone

Telephone number: 0333 304 3333

Email address:  Regional@help.vodafone.co.uk

Account number:  670045603 

Tariff Information and Device Specification

Tariff Information: 

Full tariff information and options will follow once the new university’s sole supplier is finalising. In the interim please contact IT Services with any enquires via email; mso@lboro.ac.uk

Hardware (Phone, tablets etc): 

Each department/school are responsible for purchasing handsets currently. Our recommended supplier is Academia and a full list of preferred model will shortly be available. 

Information of available iPhones can be found on the Academia Apple catalogue, found here.  

Please note that there is now a mandatory £7 charge for engraving 'Property of Loughborough University' on all Apple orders going forward - please account for this on your purchase orders.  

(Agresso supplier number S10679)

Placing New Orders

For all new connections please contact your departments 'daily contact', they will then help place orders for hardware and facilitate orders for SIM cards and lines. 

For SIM card/line orders:

We are encouraging any orders for new connections to be put on hold until the new provider is finiailised. This ensures that all new connections are put onto the best tariff available to us.

If your order cannot wait your departments 'daily contact(s)' can order the SIM card for new connections through the MSO team (MSO@lboro.ac.uk).

Please note, the following information is required:

  1. Delivery address for SIM
  2. Name of user 
  3. Type of hadst SIM will be used with

For handset orders:

Each department/school are currently responsible for purchasing handsets. Our recommended supplier is Academia and a full list of preferred models will shortly be available. 

Information of available iPhones can be found on the Academia Apple catalogue, found here.  

Please note that there is now a mandatory £7 charge for engraving 'Property of Loughborough University' on ALL Apple devices going forward - please account for this on your purchase orders.  

(Academia's Agresso supplier number: S10679)

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the ordering and delivery timeframes?

Ordering Timeframes: 

Once your order has been submitted to the MSO team in IT Services your order will be placed within 3-4 working days. 

Orders are submitted by your department's 'daily contact' - please see 'Department Daily Contact' tab for further information. 

Delivery Timeframes: 

Delivery timeframes will be published once the agreement with the new university’s sole supplier for Mobile Telephones and Data Services is on place. 

 

Can my data allowance be capped or increased?

To be confirmed once the agreement with the new university’s sole supplier for Mobile Telephones and Data Services is on place. 

All users should receive text notifications when they are reaching their data allowance, for all university network providers (O2, EE, Vodafone and Gamma). Please notify your daily contact as soon as possible if you receive these texts and use Wi-Fi where ever possible. 

Data usage is monitored and excessive usage will be flagged with departments and recharged. 

What if I have poor reception with our new provider?

If you experience poor service please flag with your departments daily contact, who will be able to escalate the issue as necessary. 



Who do I contact if my handset if damaged, lost or stolen?

Please contact your department's 'daily contact' (see 'Department Daily Contact' tab) in the first instance, they will be able to work with the MSO team in IT Services if necessary (MSO@lboro.ac.uk). 

Do I have to return my handset if I leave the university?

Yes - your handset remains university property, please hand your phone back to your departments 'daily contact' - please see 'Department Daily Contact' tab for further information. 

Can I upgrade my handset to the latest model?

If you require a new handset please speak to your departments 'daily contact' (see 'Department Daily Contact' tab). 

Every department/school are responsible for purchasing handset currently. Our recommended supplier is Academia and a full list of preferred model will shortly be available. 

Information of available iPhones can be found on the Academia Apple catalogue, found here.  

Please note that there is now a mandatory £7 charge for engraving 'Property of Loughborough University' on all Apple orders going forward - please account for this on your purchase orders.  

How do I cancel my contract if it is no longer needed?

Please contact your department's 'daily contact' (see 'Department Daily Contact' tab) in the first instance, they will be able to facilitate the return of your handset and work with the MSO team in IT Services (MSO@lboro.ac.uk) to cancel your number/connection. 

Is the 'Roam like Home' service included in my monthly contract? with Gamma?

Yes - all our providers/contracts include the 'Roam like Home' service at up to 60 destinations around the world.

Please follow the below links to see what countries are included with your provider: 

EE: Full Information and list of included destinations 

Gamma: www.three.co.uk/feel-at-home

O2: www.o2.co.uk/help/pay-monthly/roaming-in-europe

Vodafone: List of 'Roam-free' countries. For further information, click HERE