Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 263171
Loughborough University

News and events

Latest news from Loughborough University

17 April 2012 | PR 12/70

Loughborough University Enterprise Awards: Help us find the winners


Dr Ben Halkon has worked with the Great Britain Rowing Team and the English Institute of Sport to ensure the rowing squad are on track for medal success

Staff and students at Loughborough University are asking for help to decide on the winners of the Enterprise Awards 2012.

The awards are designed to recognise University research projects which have the potential to make a significant impact on the wider world. They also honour the most enterprising of the University’s recent graduates.

Members of the public can go online and vote for their choice from the nominated projects which include a safe seatbelt for pregnant women, a chemical marker for fuel to fight organised crime and international disaster relief.  Amongst the diverse nominees for this year’s awards are several Olympic-related projects including new technologies to boost the performance of the Great Britain Rowing Team and the largest ever evaluation of the legacy of the 2012 Olympic Games.

Seven inspirational young entrepreneurs are nominated in the Graduate Enterprise category – their exciting ventures range from a unique new skydive helmet to a global sports media website.

The University’s Pro Vice Chancellor (Enterprise), Professor Steve Rothberg, said: “At Loughborough, we work closely with businesses and other organisations to make sure our research really makes a difference to the economy, to society and to the cultural life of communities in Britain and around the world.

“These awards will recognise research projects – and entrepreneurial graduates – that have been particularly successful in making an impact. We are looking forward to welcoming some of our industrial and public sector partners to the awards night, when the winners will be revealed.’’

The Enterprise Awards winners will be decided by public vote. To take part, log on to www.lboro.ac.uk/enterpriseawards where all the nominations are featured.

Voting is open from now until Monday (April 23). The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at Loughborough University on Wednesday, April 25.


For all media enquiries contact:

Anna Seddon
Marketing Manager (Enterprise)
Loughborough University
T: 01509 223445
E: A.J.Seddon@boro.ac.uk 

Notes for editors:

Loughborough is one of the country’s leading universities, with an international reputation for research that matters, excellence in teaching, strong links with industry, and unrivalled achievement in sport and its underpinning academic disciplines.

It was awarded the coveted Sunday Times University of the Year 2008-09 title, and is consistently ranked in the top twenty of UK universities in national newspaper league tables. In the 2011 National Student Survey, Loughborough was voted one of the top universities in the UK, and has topped the Times Higher Education league for the UK’s Best Student Experience every year since the poll's inception in 2006. In recognition of its contribution to the sector, the University has been awarded six Queen's Anniversary Prizes.

Loughborough is also the UK’s premier university for sport. It has perhaps the best integrated sports development environment in the world and is home to some of the country’s leading coaches, sports scientists and support staff. It also has the country’s largest concentration of world-class training facilities across a wide range of sports.

It is a member of the 1994 Group of 19 leading research-intensive universities. The Group was established in 1994 to promote excellence in university research and teaching. Each member undertakes diverse and high-quality research, while ensuring excellent levels of teaching and student experience.

Search news

Contact us

Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
LE11 3TU

Tel: 01509 222224
Fax: 01509 223902

Find out more

Page maintained by: publicrelations@lboro.ac.uk
This page was last updated on Tuesday April 17, 2012 16:56