Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 263171
Loughborough University

News and events

Latest news from Loughborough University

20 September 2012 | PR 12/167

Loughborough awards honorary degrees at summer ceremonies

Joy Spence

Mrs Joy Spence

This year the Loughborough University honour roll saw a total of ten honorary graduates receive their awards.

Honorary awards recognise the outstanding contributions individuals have made to local, national and international society.

The honorary awards included Mrs Joy Spence, a Master Blender at the Appleton Estate of Jamaican Rum, for an outstanding contribution to the Distilled Spirits Industry and her advancement of women in that field.

Also Mr Sebastian Conran, director at Sebastian Conran Associates, was awarded for his work in actively championing the UK Design Industry and supporting the development of Industrial Design within Higher Education.

The graduation ceremonies, which took place from Thursday 13th to Tuesday 18th September, saw further recipients: 

Dr the Honourable David Saul

Dr the Honourable David Saul

Mr Mihir Bose (Journalist and Author)
Honorary Doctor of Letters (Hon DLitt), for his outstanding contribution to journalism and the promotion of equality.

Mr Trevor Fletcher (Managing Director, the Hardstaff Group) Honorary Doctor of Technology (Hon DTech), for his outstanding leadership in developing and applying Innovation in Low-Carbon Transport.

Mr Matt Hampson (Founder of the Matt Hampson Foundation) Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv), for his outstanding courage and inspiration in dealing with personal adversity and creating, and working for, a foundation which raises money for injured sports people.

Matt Hampson

Mr Matt Hampson with Professor Robert Allison

Mr Peter Keen CBE (Former Performance Director of UK Sport) Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv), for his outstanding services to sport and continued dedication to the strategic development of the UK High Performance System.

Professor Alvin Nienow (Emeritus Professor of Biochemical Engineering at the University of Birmingham; Visiting Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, Loughborough University) Honorary Doctor of Science (Hon DSc), for his international leadership in the fields of Biochemical Engineering and Fluid Mixing Processes.

Professor Julietta Patnick CBE (Director of the NHS Cancer Screening Programmes) Honorary Doctor of Science (Hon DSc), for her outstanding contribution to breast, cervical and bowel cancer screening which has led to the early identification and consequent reduction of disease across these domains.

Professor Julietta Patnick

Professor Julietta Patnick CBE

Dr the Honourable David Saul (Director of Fidelity Investments and Former Prime Minister of Bermuda) Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv), for his outstanding career in education, politics and international business.

Professor Richard Sennett (Professor of Sociology, London School of Economics) Honorary Doctor of Letters (Hon DLitt), outstanding contribution to the field of Sociology.

The degree ceremonies were also a chance for hundreds of postgraduates and undergraduates to receive their degree qualifications as a formal conclusion of many years of hard work.

They accepted their award from the University Chancellor, Sir Nigel Rudd in the presence of the recently appointed Vice Chancellor, Professor Robert Allison.


For all media enquiries contact:

Hannah Bateson
Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
T: 01509 228658
E: H.R.Bateson@lboro.ac.uk 

Notes for editors:

Loughborough is one of the country’s leading universities, with an international reputation for research that matters, excellence in teaching, strong links with industry, and unrivalled achievement in sport and its underpinning academic disciplines.

It was awarded the coveted Sunday Times University of the Year 2008-09 title, and is consistently ranked in the top twenty of UK universities in national newspaper league tables. In the 2011 National Student Survey, Loughborough was voted one of the top universities in the UK, and has topped the Times Higher Education league for the UK’s Best Student Experience every year since the poll's inception in 2006. In recognition of its contribution to the sector, the University has been awarded six Queen's Anniversary Prizes.

Loughborough is also the UK’s premier university for sport. It has perhaps the best integrated sports development environment in the world and is home to some of the country’s leading coaches, sports scientists and support staff. It also has the country’s largest concentration of world-class training facilities across a wide range of sports.

It is a member of the 1994 Group of 19 leading research-intensive universities. The Group was established in 1994 to promote excellence in university research and teaching. Each member undertakes diverse and high-quality research, while ensuring excellent levels of teaching and student experience.

Search news

Contact us

Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
LE11 3TU

Tel: 01509 222224
Fax: 01509 223902

Find out more

Page maintained by: publicrelations@lboro.ac.uk
This page was last updated on Thursday September 20, 2012 12:49