Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 263171
Loughborough University

News and events

Latest news from Loughborough University

27 June 2011 | PR 11/79

University prize giving ceremony honours dedicated student community volunteers


The outstanding volunteering contributions made by three University students have been honoured by Loughborough University in the 2011 student community awards. 

The University presents the TS Shipman Prize and Hannah Community Prize annually to recognise and reward its students who have taken part in community activities. 

The TS Shipman Prize is for students of the University or College who are considered to have contributed most to the development of co-operation and aid between the University or College and the local community.  The assessor panel decided to award two students the 2011 prize.

Amelia Temple, aged 22 from the Department of Social Sciences was recognised for her sustained commitment to volunteering in the community.  She started volunteering at Abbeyfields Residential Care Home  in her first year and has continued to give considerable time throughout her studies.  Her commitment to the care home led her to developing her role to lead projects, increase volunteer numbers and manage their support.

Stacey Balsdon, aged 22 from the Department of Geography was rewarded for her commitment to the role of project leader in arranging day trips for underprivileged children.  Of particular significance for the assessor panel was the way she used her initiative to seeking additional funding for the project and her recruitment and management of 50 volunteers who assisted with the trips.

The Hannah Community Prize is specifically to recognise students’ acts of kindness or good neighbourliness.  The Prize is in memory of a former student, Mr George Alexander Hannah and the financial reward for the winners comes from funds bequeathed to the University in his memory.

John Isralidis, aged 24 from the Department of Information Science received the Hannah Prize for his friendship and support of his neighbour.  The assessors felt that John’s friendship with his neighbour was a shining example of the aims of the Hannah Prize
Caroline Walker, interim Chief Operating Officer at the University presented the certificates and financial prizes in a ceremony that took place at Loughborough Town Hall at the end of May.

Caroline commented: “Our student volunteers make outstanding contributions to a diverse range of projects and organisations across the Borough.  They always give their time willingly alongside their academic studies.   These awards are a way the University can reward them for their efforts and it is always a great pleasure to do so.”

Caroline was joined at the event by Loughborough’s MP, Nicky Morgan, the new Charnwood Borough Council Mayor, Councillor Burnard Burr and other local Councillors, dignitaries and guests.


For all media enquiries contact:

Alison Barlow
Community Relations Officer
Loughborough University
T: 01509 228696
E: A.J.Barlow@lboro.ac.uk 

Notes for editors:

Loughborough is one of the country’s leading universities, with an international reputation for research that matters, excellence in teaching, strong links with industry, and unrivalled achievement in sport and its underpinning academic disciplines.

It was awarded the coveted Sunday Times University of the Year 2008-09 title, and is consistently ranked in the top twenty of UK universities in national newspaper league tables. In the 2010 National Student Survey, Loughborough was voted one of the top universities in the UK, and has topped the Times Higher Education league for the UK’s Best Student Experience every year since the poll's inception in 2006. In recognition of its contribution to the sector, the University has been awarded six Queen's Anniversary Prizes.

Loughborough is also the UK’s premier university for sport. It has perhaps the best integrated sports development environment in the world and is home to some of the country’s leading coaches, sports scientists and support staff. It also has the country’s largest concentration of world-class training facilities across a wide range of sports.

It is a member of the 1994 Group of 19 leading research-intensive universities. The Group was established in 1994 to promote excellence in university research and teaching. Each member undertakes diverse and high-quality research, while ensuring excellent levels of teaching and student experience.

Search news

Contact us

Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
LE11 3TU

Tel: 01509 222224
Fax: 01509 223902

Find out more

Page maintained by: publicrelations@lboro.ac.uk
This page was last updated on Wednesday September 21, 2011 10:46