Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 263171
Loughborough University

News and events

Latest news from Loughborough University

28 March 2011 | PR 11/35

Lord Coe hosts glittering launch of the Loughborough Sporting Club


Jason Lee, Sir Clive Woodward, Danny Nightingale, Dr Mary Nevill. Bob Wilson, Professor Shirley Pearce, Andy Robinson, Dr David Moorcroft, Robbie Brightwell, Lord Sebastian Coe.

One of Loughborough University’s finest graduates, Lord Sebastian Coe, has hosted a unique event at the House of Lords to launch the Loughborough Sporting Club.

Lord Coe, Chair of the London 2012 Organising Committee, has agreed to be the President of the Club.  He is also one of the first 21 inductees to be selected into the Loughborough University Sport Hall of Fame.

The launch event was attended by the cream of British sport, including a number of high profile Loughborough graduates and Sport Hall of Fame inductees, such as Sir Clive Woodward, Bob Wilson, David Moorcroft and Mary Nevill.

The Loughborough Sporting Club is a joint initiative between the University's Development & Alumni Relations Office and the Sports Development Centre.

The Club aims to provide a vibrant, active social-networking club for members keeping them informed and engaged with sport at Loughborough. This will be done through an annual programme of events and activities, encouraging participation, friendships and support for Loughborough sport.

The Club will also provide various ‘Friends of…’ groups for those members that have an affinity with a particular sport.  A number of the first inductees to the Sport Hall of Fame have offered their services to support the groups, including David Moorcroft who will be the Patron for Friends of Athletics.

Lord Coe, President of the Loughborough Sporting Club said:

“The sporting achievements of Loughborough students have been astonishing over the years. I am truly proud to have been asked to be President of the Loughborough Sporting Club, and to represent the membership and the proud tradition of Loughborough University sport.

“I am sure that the Club will be a huge success, pulling together all the great sportspeople and supporters of Loughborough Sport under one truly exciting and vibrant organisation.”

Professor Shirley Pearce, Vice Chancellor of Loughborough University said:

“Over the years, Loughborough’s success in sport has been unrivalled.  The Loughborough Sporting Club has been created to celebrate this long history of success in sport, and the Sport Hall of Fame will recognise the particular achievements of our exceptional alumni.

“I would personally like to thank Seb for agreeing to be President of the Loughborough Sporting Club, and express my appreciation to all the alumni who have agreed to be part of the ‘Friends of…’ groups in this new and pioneering initiative."

Further information about the Loughborough Sporting Club, including membership and upcoming events, will soon be available at: www.loughboroughsportingclub.co.uk


For all media enquiries contact:

Rob Knott
PR Officer (Sport)
Loughborough University
T: 01509 228686
E: R.A.Knott@lboro.ac.uk

Notes for editors:

  1. The first 21 inductees to the Loughborough University Hall of Fame are:
    Steve Backley OBE
    Robbie Brightwell MBE
    Lord Sebastian Coe KBE
    John Cooper
    Dr John Disley CBE
    Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson DBE
    Dr David Moorcroft OBE

    Nick Knight

    Bob Wilson OBE

    Jason Lee
    Dr Mary Nevill
    David Whitaker OBE

    Modern Pentathlon
    Danny Nightingale

    Rugby Union
    Fran Cotton
    Dr Gerald Davies CBE
    Jim Greenwood
    Ken Jones OBE
    Andy Robinson OBE
    Sir Clive Woodward OBE

    James Gibson MBE

    Sue Challis

  2. Loughborough is one of the country’s leading universities, with an international reputation for research that matters, excellence in teaching, strong links with industry, and unrivalled achievement in sport and its underpinning academic disciplines.

    It was awarded the coveted Sunday Times University of the Year 2008-09 title, and is consistently ranked in the top twenty of UK universities in national newspaper league tables. In the 2010 National Student Survey, Loughborough was voted one of the top universities in the UK, and has topped the Times Higher Education league for the UK’s Best Student Experience every year since the poll's inception in 2006. In recognition of its contribution to the sector, the University has been awarded six Queen's Anniversary Prizes.

    Loughborough is also the UK’s premier university for sport. It has perhaps the best integrated sports development environment in the world and is home to some of the country’s leading coaches, sports scientists and support staff. It also has the country’s largest concentration of world-class training facilities across a wide range of sports.

    It is a member of the 1994 Group of 19 leading research-intensive universities. The Group was established in 1994 to promote excellence in university research and teaching. Each member undertakes diverse and high-quality research, while ensuring excellent levels of teaching and student experience.

Search news

Contact us

Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
LE11 3TU

Tel: 01509 222224
Fax: 01509 223902

Find out more

Page maintained by: publicrelations@lboro.ac.uk
This page was last updated on Wednesday September 21, 2011 10:46