Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 263171
Loughborough University

News and events

Latest news from Loughborough University

20 December 2011 | PR 11/157

Director General of the Royal British Legion among those honoured by Loughborough

Dame Lynne Brindley

Dame Lynne (Janie) Brindley

Christopher Simpkins, the Director General of the Royal British Legion, and Dame Lynne Brindley, Chief Executive of The British Library, were among those awarded honorary degrees by Loughborough University yesterday (19 December).

Honorary awards recognise the outstanding contributions individuals have made to local, national and international society.

The awards were presented at the University’s winter degree ceremonies. Yesterday’s recipients were:

Professor Freddy Boey

Professor Freddy Boey

Dame Lynne Brindley DBE (Chief Executive of The British Library)
Honorary Doctor of Letters (Hon DLitt), for her contribution to the delivery of world-leading digital information and library services for researchers, teachers and students in the UK and globally.

Professor Freddy Boey (Provost at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
Honorary Doctor of Technology (Hon DTech), for his contribution to research as champion of the Institute for Sports Research project between Nanyang Technological University and Loughborough University.

Joanna Motion

Mrs Joanna Motion

Joanna Motion (Partner in the More Partnership and former Vice-President International Operations at the Council for Advancement and Support of Education)
Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv), for her contribution to education, encouraging government support for educational advancement around the world.

Christopher Simpkins (Director General of the Royal British Legion)
Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv), for his vision and leadership of the Royal British Legion’s success in raising funds, providing welfare support and campaigning on behalf of serving Armed Forces personnel, ex-Servicemen and Servicewomen and their dependents.

Christopher Simpkins

Mr Christopher Simpkins

The degree ceremonies also mark the formal conclusion of many years’ hard work for hundreds of the University’s students, who were presented with a range of undergraduate and postgraduate qualifications by the University Chancellor, Sir Nigel Rudd.





For all media enquiries contact:

Hannah Baldwin
Head of PR
Loughborough University
T: 01509 222239
E: H.E.Baldwin@lboro.ac.uk 

Notes for editors:

Loughborough is one of the country’s leading universities, with an international reputation for research that matters, excellence in teaching, strong links with industry, and unrivalled achievement in sport and its underpinning academic disciplines.

It was awarded the coveted Sunday Times University of the Year 2008-09 title, and is consistently ranked in the top twenty of UK universities in national newspaper league tables. In the 2011 National Student Survey, Loughborough was voted one of the top universities in the UK, and has topped the Times Higher Education league for the UK’s Best Student Experience every year since the poll's inception in 2006. In recognition of its contribution to the sector, the University has been awarded six Queen's Anniversary Prizes.

Loughborough is also the UK’s premier university for sport. It has perhaps the best integrated sports development environment in the world and is home to some of the country’s leading coaches, sports scientists and support staff. It also has the country’s largest concentration of world-class training facilities across a wide range of sports.

It is a member of the 1994 Group of 19 leading research-intensive universities. The Group was established in 1994 to promote excellence in university research and teaching. Each member undertakes diverse and high-quality research, while ensuring excellent levels of teaching and student experience.

Search news

Contact us

Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
LE11 3TU

Tel: 01509 222224
Fax: 01509 223902

Find out more

Page maintained by: publicrelations@lboro.ac.uk
This page was last updated on Tuesday December 20, 2011 16:29