Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 263171
Loughborough University

News and events

Latest news from Loughborough University

15 July 2009 | PR 09/93

Lord Lieutenant and Deputy Lieutenant of Leicestershire among those to be honoured by University

Jennifer, Lady Gretton – Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenant of Leicestershire – and Freda Hussain, Deputy Lieutenant of Leicestershire and former Principal of Moat Community College in Leicester, will be among thirteen distinguished people to receive honorary degrees from Loughborough University at its summer graduation ceremonies, which take place from Thursday 16 to Tuesday 21 July.

Honorary degrees are conferred in recognition of outstanding contributions to industry, academia, business, sport, the arts and society. The awards will be presented as follows:

Thursday 16 July at 10.30am

Professor Dame Julia Stretton Higgins
Professor of Polymer Science, Imperial College London
Honorary Doctor of Science (Hon DSci)
For her outstanding contribution to Chemical Engineering and the promotion of women into Science

Alan A Woods
Chairman of Siemens UK
Honorary Doctor of Technology (Hon DTech)
For his outstanding contribution to engineering and raising its social profile with the public

Thursday 16 July at 3pm

Jennifer, Lady Gretton JP LLD
Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenant of Leicestershire
Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv)
For her outstanding services to the people of Leicestershire.

Friday 17 July at 10.30am

Professor Christine Hallett
Principal and Vice Chancellor of the University of Stirling
Honorary Doctor of Letters (Hon DLitt)
For her outstanding leadership in higher education and academic contribution to the field of social policy

Jonathon Porritt
Chair of the Sustainable Development Commission
Honorary Doctor of Science (Hon DSci)
For his outstanding contribution to sustainable development

Friday 17 July at 3pm

Professor Jocelyn Bell Burnell
Visiting Professor in Astrophysics, University of Oxford
Honorary Doctor of Science (Hon DSci)
For her outstanding contribution to astrophysics

Saturday 18 July at 10.30am

John Disley CBE
Bronze medallist in the Steeplechase at the Helsinki Olympic Games and joint founder of the London Marathon
Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv)
For his outstanding contribution to orienteering and sport in the UK

Saturday 18 July at 2pm

Len Almond
Foundation Director/Senior Advisor to the British Heart Foundation National Centre for Physical Activity and Health
Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv)
For his outstanding inspiration, commitment, vision and energy in the promotion of physical activity for health to people of all ages

Monday 20 July at 10.30am

Hope Powell
The Football Association National Women’s Football Team Coach
Honorary Doctor of the University (Hon DUniv)
For her outstanding contribution to women’s football

Professor Arne Ljungqvist
International Olympic Committee (IOC) Member, Chairman of the IOC Medical Commission and Vice President of WADA (World Anti-Doping Agency)
Honorary Doctor of Science (Hon DSci)
For his commitment to sports medicine

Monday 20 July at 3pm

Sameer Kamal Al Ansari
Founding Executive Chairman and CEO of Dubai International Capital
Honorary Doctor of Letters (Hon DLitt)
For his outstanding leadership and achievement in the world of finance

Tuesday 21 July at 10.30am

Freda Hussain MBE DL
Principal of Moat Community College, Leicester 1991-2006, High Sheriff of Leicestershire 2004-05, Deputy Lieutenant of Leicestershire
Honorary Doctor of Letters (Hon DLitt)
For her outstanding service to education and young people in Leicestershire.

Tuesday 21 July at 3pm

Barry Hines
Honorary Doctor of Letters (Hon DLitt)
In recognition of his unique contribution to contemporary UK culture through the production of prize-winning drama in film, television and literature.

The ceremonies being held on Saturday 18 July are part of the University’s Centenary celebrations. The two events, which are unique in higher education in the UK, will see over 1,000 alumni from as long ago as the 1930s invited back to Loughborough to be recognised for their contribution to the University as it is today.

All former students, who received a diploma at one of the University’s constituent colleges before full degree-awarding powers were bestowed, have been invited back to campus to receive an honorary BA or BSc as part of the celebrations.

Further honorary degree ceremonies are due to be held in December.


For all media enquiries contact:

Hannah Baldwin
Head of PR
Loughborough University
T: 01509 222239
E: H.E.Baldwin@lboro.ac.uk 

Notes for editors:

  • Members of the media are welcome to attend the graduation ceremonies, which will take place in the Sir David Wallace building on the University campus. There will also be opportunities for interviews, photography and filming of the honorary graduates in the Sir John Beckwith Centre for Sport (Lecture Theatre) thirty minutes prior to the start of each ceremony. You are asked to access the campus via the main University entrance on Epinal Way. Please inform the Public Relations Office on 01509 222224, in advance, if you wish to attend.

  • Loughborough is one of the country’s leading universities, with an international reputation for excellence in teaching and research, strong links with industry and unrivalled sporting achievement.

    It was awarded the coveted Sunday Times University of the Year 2008-09 title, and is consistently ranked in the top twenty of UK universities in national newspaper league tables. In the 2008 National Student Survey, Loughborough was voted one of the top five universities in the UK, with 22 out of 30 of its subject areas being ranked in the top ten for overall satisfaction. It was named winner of the 2006, 2007 and 2008 Times Higher award for the UK’s Best Student Experience and winner of the 2007 award for Outstanding Support for Overseas Students. In recognition of its contribution to the sector, the University has been awarded six Queen's Anniversary Prizes – an achievement bettered by no other institution.

    It is a member of the esteemed 1994 Group – a set of internationally recognised, research-intensive universities – and has a reputation for the relevance of its work. Its degree programmes are highly regarded by professional institutions and businesses, and its graduates are consistently targeted by the UK’s top recruiters.

    Loughborough is also the UK’s premier university for sport. It has perhaps the best integrated sports development environment in the world and is home to some of the country’s leading coaches, sports scientists and support staff. It also has the country’s largest concentration of world-class training facilities across a wide range of sports.

Search news

Contact us

Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
LE11 3TU

Tel: 01509 222224
Fax: 01509 223902

Find out more

Page maintained by: publicrelations@lboro.ac.uk
This page was last updated on Wednesday September 21, 2011 10:46