Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 263171
Loughborough University

News and events

Latest news from Loughborough University

21 March 2007 PR 07/36

Loughborough swimmers head British challenge at World Champs

Loughborough University’s swimming programme continues its proud traditions when 11 swimmers, 10 for Great Britain and one for Ireland, take their first competitive plunge at the World Swimming Championships in Melbourne on Sunday.

Unfortunately, they will not be scything through the same pool that enabled University trained swimmers to claim 18 Commonwealth Games medals last March. Instead the event has been moved from the Melbourne Aquatic Centre to an especially constructed pool at Rod Laver Arena, which is best known for hosting rock concerts and the Australian Open tennis tournament.

Heading the Loughborough contingent will be double Commonwealth champions Caitlin McClatchey (200 metres and 400m freestyle) and David Carry (400 freestyle, 400 individual medley).

Politics student McClatchey, who won both the 200 metres and 400 metres freestyle and upstaged the vaunted Australian women’s team which had hoped to win every gold medal in the pool at last year’s Commonwealth Games, will also be seeking to add to the bronze she won in the 400 freestyle at the 2005 World Championships in Montreal.

Carry will not be racing the 400 IM at Melbourne, instead concentrating on the 200 and 400 freestyle and the 4x200 freestyle relay.

Commonwealth 100 backstroke champion Liam Tancock (50 and 100 backstroke) will also be seeking to add to his 50 backstroke bronze from Montreal, while Commonwealth 200 freestyle champion Ross Davenport has been selected to race in the 4x200 freestyle and 4x100 freestyle relay squads.

Mel Marshall, who proved her versatility last March by winning six medals, will be competing in the 100 and 200 backstroke, 200 freestyle and is part of the 4x200 freestyle squad, which also includes sports and exercise science student Julia Beckett.

Commonwealth Games 4x100 freestyle silver medallist Rosalind Brett, who also won silver in the event at the 2001 world championships in Fukuoka, Japan, will be part of the relay squad again and will race in the 50 butterfly. Amy Smith will join Brett in the 4x100 freestyle relay squad.

Ireland’s Ciara Farrell will compete in the women’s 50, 100 and 200 breaststroke, alongside Britain’s Kate Haywood, who will race the 50 and 100 metres in the discipline.

Craig Gibbons has also been selected for the British men’s 4x100 freestyle relay squad.


For all media enquiries contact:

Notes to editors

  1. Previous world championship medallists:

    Fukuoka 2001

    Janine Belton 4x200m freestyle

    Melanie Marshall 4 x 100m freestyle
    Rosalind Brett  4 x 100m freestyle

    Barcelona 2003


    James Gibson 50m breaststroke

    James Gibson 100m breaststroke
    Zoe Baker 50m breaststroke

    Montreal 2005

    Caitlin McClatchey 400m freestyle
    Liam Tancock 50m backstroke

  2. Loughborough has an established reputation for excellence in teaching and research, strong links with industry, and unrivalled sporting achievement. Assessments of teaching quality by the Quality Assurance Agency place it in the top flight of UK universities; the National Student Survey ranked Loughborough in the top five among full-time students; and industry highlights the University in its top five for graduate recruitment. Around 40% of Loughborough’s income is for research, and 60% for teaching. The University has been awarded five Queen's Anniversary Prizes: for its collaboration with aerospace and automotive companies such as BAE Systems, Ford and Rolls Royce; for its work in developing countries; for pioneering research in optical engineering; for its world-leading role in sports research, education and development; and for its outstanding work in evaluating and helping to develop social policy-related programmes.

Search news

Contact us

Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
LE11 3TU

Tel: 01509 222224
Fax: 01509 223902

Find out more

Page maintained by: publicrelations@lboro.ac.uk
This page was last updated on Wednesday September 21, 2011 10:46