Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 263171
Loughborough University

News and events

Latest news from Loughborough University

25 July 2006 PR 06/91

International flavour for Loughborough European Athletics meeting

International flavour for Loughborough European Athletics meeting
Loughborough University will host the 2006 European Athletics Permit (LEAP) meeting, the latest event in the UK Challenge series, on Wednesday 26 July.

It is the final opportunity for some athletes to achieve qualifying standards for the European Championships in Gothenburg. Will Sharman (Belgrave Harriers) has already secured his selection in Great Britain & Northern Ireland team; he will take on David Hughes (Trafford) and Dutchman Greg Sedoc in the sprint hurdes.

In the women’s sprints Emma Ania (Shaftesbury Barnet) and Loughborough University graduate Jeanette Kwayke (Woodford Green with Essex Ladies) will be hoping to impress the GB selectors, as will Helen Karagounis (Birchfield) and Loughborough grad Mel Purkiss (Team Southampton) as they face a good international field in the Women’s 400m.

Czech Decathlon world record holder Roman Sebrle will compete in three events – the discus, 110m Hurdles and 200m – as he fine tunes his preparations for Gothenburg. Fellow combined eventer Kelly Sotherton (Birchfield) will run the 200m against former World indoor 400m Champion Sandy Richards of Jamaica, two days before she goes in the long jump at the Norwich Union London Grand Prix on Friday night.

The Men’s 100m field has been bolstered by Ghanian Erik Nkansah who takes on European Junior champion Craig Pickering (Marshall Milton Keynes) plus Jamaican Steve Mullings, Ricardo Williams and American Ernest Wiggins.

The men’s 400m Hurdles line up includes current European silver medallist Jiri Muzik of the Czech Republic, 2003 World Universiade champion Thomas Kortbeek of the Netherlands and Britain’s Matt Douglas (Belgrave) who was 3rd in the Norwich Union European Trials.

The respective British and Japanese record holders Janine Whitlock (Belgrave) and Ikuko Nishikori clash in the Women’s Pole Vault whilst world ranked Nick Petrucci of the USA , who has a 66.35 PB, heads a strong Discus field.

The international men’s Hammer will open the proceedings at 2.30pm, with track events starting at 3pm.

Tickets, priced £5 for adults and £3 for concessions, are available by calling 01509 226250.

The latest timetable is available online

– Ends –

For media accreditation for LEAP please contact:

Notes to editors
Loughborough has an established reputation for excellence in teaching and research, strong links with industry, and unrivalled sporting achievement. Assessments of teaching quality by the Quality Assurance Agency place it in the top flight of UK universities; the National Student Survey ranked Loughborough equal first among full-time students; and industry highlights the University in its top five for graduate recruitment. Around 40% of Loughborough’s income is for research, and 60% for teaching. The University has been awarded five Queen's Anniversary Prizes: for its collaboration with aerospace and automotive companies such as BAE Systems, Ford and Rolls Royce; for its work in developing countries; for pioneering research in optical engineering; for its world-leading role in sports research, education and development; and for its outstanding work in evaluating and helping to develop social policy-related programmes.

In 2006 Loughborough celebrates the 40th anniversary of its University Charter, awarded on 19 April 1966 in recognition of the excellence achieved by Loughborough College of Advanced Technology and its predecessor Colleges. Loughborough University of Technology was renamed Loughborough University in 1996.

Search news

Contact us

Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
LE11 3TU

Tel: 01509 222224
Fax: 01509 223902

Find out more

Page maintained by: publicrelations@lboro.ac.uk
This page was last updated on Wednesday September 21, 2011 10:46