Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 263171
Loughborough University

News and events

Latest news from Loughborough University

20 February 2006 PR 06/14

University begins 40th anniversary celebrations

Celebrations to mark Loughborough University’s 40th anniversary officially began on Friday (17 February), when Vice Chancellor Professor Shirley Pearce and Alumni President Peter Davenport cut a special cake to commemorate four decades of University success.

The University came into being back in 1966, when Her Majesty The Queen awarded Loughborough its Charter on 19 April, in recognition of the excellence achieved by Loughborough College of Advanced Technology and its predecessor Colleges.

Loughborough University of Technology was the country’s first technological university. It was later renamed Loughborough University in 1996.

“Loughborough University has a long and prestigious heritage. In this, my first year as Vice Chancellor, I am pleased to celebrate its many achievements over the past forty years, and am delighted to contribute to its future development,” said Professor Shirley Pearce.

The first of the 40th anniversary celebrations were held at the University’s meeting of Court – a body of externally appointed representatives that meets annually to consider the University Annual Report and Accounts.

A number of other special celebrations will be held throughout the year and a commemorative publication produced to mark the anniversary.

In 2009 Loughborough will celebrate its Centenary, marking a hundred years since the establishment of Loughborough Technical Institute – the University’s ‘ancestor’.

– Ends –

For further information contact:

Notes to editors

  1. There have been four Chancellors of the University – Lord Pilkington (1966-1980), Sir Arnold Hall (1980-
    1989), Sir Denis Rooke (1989-2005), and Sir John Jennings (2005-present day)

  2. There have been seven Vice Chancellors – Dr Herbert Haslegrave (1966-67), Professor Elfyn Richards
    (1967-1975), Sir Clifford Butler (1975-1985), Professor John Phillips (1986-1987), Professor Sir David
    Davies (1988-1993), Professor Sir David Wallace (1994-2005), and Professor Shirley Pearce (2006-
    present day)

  3. Memorable national and international highlights from 1966:

    England beat host nation West Germany 4-2 to win football’s World Cup for the first time since the
    tournament began in 1930.

    The Russians make the first controlled landing of a spacecraft, Luna 9, on the Moon. The United States
    lands its first spacecraft, Surveyor 1, on the Moon four months later.

    The Chancellor of the Exchequer, James Callaghan, confirms the “historic and momentous” decision to
    change over to decimal coinage in 1971.

    The BBC announces plans to begin broadcasting television programmes in colour from 1967.

    Under Prime Minister Harold Wilson, the Labour party wins the general election, only the second time a Labour government has been voted back into power.

  4. Loughborough has an established reputation for excellence in teaching and research, strong links with industry, and unrivalled sporting achievement. Assessments of teaching quality by the Quality Assurance Agency place it in the top flight of UK universities; the National Student Survey ranked Loughborough equal first among full-time students; and industry highlights the University in its top five for graduate recruitment. Around 40% of Loughborough’s income is for research, and 60% for teaching. The University has been awarded five Queen's Anniversary Prizes: for its collaboration with aerospace and automotive companies such as BAE Systems, Ford and Rolls Royce; for its work in developing countries; for pioneering research in optical engineering; for its world-leading role in sports research, education and development; and for its outstanding work in evaluating and helping to develop social policy-related programmes.

    In 2006 Loughborough celebrates the 40th anniversary of its University Charter, awarded on 19 April 1966 in recognition of the excellence achieved by Loughborough College of Advanced Technology and its predecessor Colleges. Loughborough University of Technology was renamed Loughborough University in 1996.

Search news

Contact us

Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
LE11 3TU

Tel: 01509 222224
Fax: 01509 223902

Find out more

Page maintained by: publicrelations@lboro.ac.uk
This page was last updated on Wednesday September 21, 2011 10:46