Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 263171
Loughborough University

News and events

Latest news from Loughborough University

17 November 2005 PR 05/111

Loughborough swimmer named Student Sportswoman of the Year

Loughborough University swimmer Caitlin McClatchey has won this year’s Sunday Times Student Sportswoman of the Year award.

Following the announcement last night (16 November) at a dinner at Old Billingsgate Market, London, Caitlin said: “I feel very honoured to be given the Sunday Times Student Sportswoman of the Year award, especially when there was such a strong and talented field of other students.

“I am very grateful to my coach Ben Titley for all the hours and support he’s given me. I’d like to thank everyone at Loughborough University, in particular David Allen, head of the department of Politics, International Relations and European Studies, and Ian Armiger, the director of swimming, for helping me to combine my studies and my swimming. I’d also like to thank the squad I train with for all their support and encouragement.”

Caitlin (19) is the 400m Freestyle British record holder and is ranked in the top three in the world. She took Britain’s first medal – bronze in the 400m Freestyle – on the opening day of the World Swimming Championships in Montreal in July this year, and was also part of Britain’s fifth-placed 4x200m Freestyle relay team at the Athens Olympics.

She is in her second year studying for a Politics degree.

Now in their 18th year, the Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year awards celebrate the immense contribution made by women to British sporting life.

Ends –

For further information contact:

Hannah Baldwin, Head of PR, Loughborough University,
T: 01509 222239, E: H.E.Baldwin@lboro.ac.uk

Notes to editors

  1. For interviews, photographs or a full profile of Caitlin please contact Hannah Baldwin in the PR Office, T: 01509 222239.

  2. The full list of categories for the 2005 Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year awards was:
    Best TV Sports Advertising Campaign
    Champions Awards
    Lifetime Achievement Award
    PE Teacher of the Year
    Student Sportswoman of the Year
    Team of the Year
    The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration
    The Sunday Times Sportswoman of the Year
    Unsung Hero
    Young Sportswoman of the Year

  3. The judges for the 2005 awards* were:
    * (except the Sunday Times Sportswoman of the Year award, which was voted for by the public)
    Eleanor Oldroyd (BBC Radio 5 Live)
    Jill Douglas (BBC Sport)
    Tanni Grey-Thompson
    Di Ellis (CCPR)
    Miriam Batten (BOA)
    Kathy Tayler (former Modern Pentahalon World Champion)
    Cathy Hughes (Women’s Sports Foundation)
    Amanda Bennett (UK Sport)
    Kate Dale (Sport England)

  4. Loughborough has an established reputation for excellence in teaching and research, strong links with industry, and unrivalled sporting achievement. Assessments of teaching quality by the Quality Assurance Agency place Loughborough in the top flight of UK universities. The National Student Survey ranked Loughborough equal first among full-time students, and industry highlights the University in its top five for graduate recruitment. Around 40% of Loughborough's income is for research, and 60% for teaching. The University has been awarded four Queen's Anniversary Prizes: for its collaboration with aerospace and automotive companies such as BAE Systems, Ford and Rolls Royce; for its work in developing countries; for pioneering research in optical engineering; and for its world-leading role in sports research, education and development.

Search news

Contact us

Public Relations Office
Loughborough University
LE11 3TU

Tel: 01509 222224
Fax: 01509 223902

Find out more

Page maintained by: publicrelations@lboro.ac.uk
This page was last updated on Wednesday September 21, 2011 10:46