School of Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences


14 Mar 2014

School nominated in Enterprise Awards 2014

Staff from the School of Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences once again feature strongly in this year’s Enterprise Awards – the annual celebration of Loughborough University’s academic engagement with business, public and voluntary organisations to create social, cultural and economic impact through knowledge exchange.

The School is represented in three categories – Intellectual PropertySocial Impact and International Impact.   

Nominees from the School this year include Emma Haycraft and Gemma Witcomb for their work in developing a Child Feeding Guide – a free app and website designed to support caregivers concerned about their children’s eating behaviours.  The iPhone app was launched in May 2013 with an Android version due to launch this Spring.  This work is nominated in both the Intellectual Property category and the Social Impact category.  Read more >>

Also nominated (in the International Impact category) is Inês Varela-Silva (alongside colleagues from a variety of academic disciplines, as well as the Centre for Faith and Spirituality) for the Maya Project, a study of the largest living group of Native Americans that both celebrates Maya culture and sheds light on the many factors affecting the people, such as poverty, discrimination, social exclusion, poor health and limited access to education. Read more >>

Nominated (in the Social Impact category) is Nicolette Bishop for her work to establish exercise as part of the care package for all kidney patients. The Loughborough team’s research work led to the formation of the Leicester Kidney Exercise Team – a unique multi-disciplinary team that is translating high-quality research into effective clinical practice and which has helped 60 dialysis patients to start and maintain a regular exercise programme during their thrice-weekly dialysis sessions.  Read more >>

To help choose this year’s winners, please visit and vote (once in each category).

Voting will close at noon on Tuesday 29th April.  The winners will be announced on 30th April.