News and events

6 Nov 2014

Loughborough Visiting Professor E. Mele is awarded the Franklin Medal in Physics

Loughborough Visiting Professor Eugene J. Mele is awarded very prestigious Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics, which he shares with Charles Kane and Shoucheng Zhang.

According to the press release of the Franklin Institute the Medal is given for "groundbreaking theoretical contributions leading to the discovery of a new class of materials called topological insulators, and for their prediction of specific compounds exhibiting the novel properties expected of these new materials".

The Benjamin Franklin Medal is an award for researchers, whose work has a significant impact on the aforementioned fields of science and is not restricted by theme or topic.

Read more about the award of the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics. →