School of Mechanical, Electrical and Manufacturing Engineering


11 Jun 2015

Wolfson Student Lead Teaching Awards 2015

The Wolfson Student Lead Teaching Awards are a Programme Rep Team initiative which aims to recognise staff who have done their best to improve the experience of the students over the last year. To be nominated for an SLTA by a student clearly shows that staff have gone the extra mile in their role and really made a positive impact on an individual or group during the year.

This year there were 31 nominations, up from 25 the year before. The quality of nominations has also increased, making deciding on the winners an incredibly tough challenge. Everyone nominated should be proud of themselves and it is hoped that even more will be nominated next year!

'Lecturer of the Year'
Winner: Dr David Hutt
Highly Commended: Hendrick Versteeg

'Innovative Teaching Award'
Winner: Dr Leila Sheldrick

'Project Tutor of the Year'
Winner: Dr Steph Forrester
Highly Commended: Dr Robert Kay

'Support Beyond Teaching'
Winner: Dr Jon Petzing
Highly Commended: Sheralyn Thorne

'Technician of the Year'
Winner: Michael Porter

'Administrative Staff Award'
Winner: Mandy Rana
Highly Commended: Chris Harris

'Rep Team's Choice Award' (Awarded by VC Professor Robert Allison)
Winner: Paul Maynard

The seven winners of an SLTA award this year have each received a bespoke trophy, designed by the Rep Team and manufactured in-house by the School.