Mathematical Sciences

About the department

Athena SWAN

The Department of Mathematical Sciences and the Mathematics Education Centre are proud holders of the silver Athena SWAN award in recognition of their commitment to supporting and advancing women’s careers in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine – known as STEMM subjects – in higher education and research.

Launched in 2005, and run by the Equality Challenge Unit (ECU), Athena SWAN helps universities and research institutions to create more equitable working environments for women in STEMM and rewards institutions that are making positive steps. Loughborough was one of the founding members of the Athena SWAN Charter.

The University holds an institutional Bronze award, and the School of Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences and the Design School have Silver and Bronze awards respectively.