News and events

Flurry of Loughborough Geography appointments to national research leadership roles

A total of 10 people were elected to positions on RGS-IBG research groups and the Postgraduate Forum at the September 2017 conference. From among our PGRs Charlotte Bolton and Andreas Culora were elected as postgraduate officers for the Population Geography Research Group, Laura Crawford elected postgraduate officer for the Historical Geography Research Group, Rachel Searcey postgraduate representative for the Geographies of Children Youth and Family Research Group, while Jo Hickman-Dunne and Peny Sotiropoulou were elected to the RGS Postgraduate Forum with responsibility as annual meeting session organisers. And if this was not enough, Helena Pimlott-Wilson was elected Treasurer of Geographies of Children Youth and Family Research Group and Sophie Cranston Events Officer for the Population Geography Research Group.

This week the focus switched to the British Society for Geomorphology (BSG) annual conference in Hull. Once more we were very well-represented by staff and PGRs, with Louise Slater and Dave Graham being appointed Outreach Secretary and Web Officer respectively. 

It is wonderful to see so many people playing an active role in two of the most prominent learned societies and professional organisations we have in Geography.