Loughborough University
Leicestershire, UK
LE11 3TU
+44 (0)1509 263171
Loughborough University


Department staff

Professor Roger J Mortimer

Professor of Physical Chemistry

Tel +44 (0) 1509 222583

Location Chemistry, F1.04


Roger Mortimer is a graduate of Imperial College London, obtaining a BSc in Chemistry in 1977. He remained at Imperial College and, in 1980, completed PhD studies concerning heterogeneous catalysis at the sold-liquid interface under the supervision of Dr Michael Spiro. As a postdoctoral research fellow (1980/81) and visiting associate in chemistry (1988), with Professor Fred C Anson at California Institute of Technology, he initiated his interests in the surface modification of electrode surfaces through studies with viologen polyelectrolyte films. His interest in modified electrodes was developed further on collaboration with Dr David R Rosseinsky at the University of Exeter where he was Demonstrator in Physical Chemistry (1981/83) and then a SERC postdoctoral research fellow (1983/84). At Exeter, he studied electrochromism in thin films of mixed-valence metal coordination complexes, and mechanistic investigations into the chemical and electrochemical formation of electroactive conjugated conducting polymers. Lecturing positions in Physical Chemistry at Anglia Ruskin University (1984/87) and Analytical Chemistry at Sheffield Hallam University (1987/89) ensued, followed by his appointment as a Lecturer B in Physical Chemistry at Loughborough University in 1989. He was promoted to Senior Lecturer via the ‘research route’ in 1999, to Reader in 2001, and to a Personal Chair in Physical Chemistry in 2006.

Link to Google Scholar

Research areas

Current interests concern the preparation and study of established and novel organic and inorganic materials on electrode surfaces (with applications in electrochromic displays, molecular electronics, sensors and energy conversion devices), and the surface modification of metals (in collaboration with Dr Geoff Wilcox of the Department of Materials)

Selected recent research publications:

Dual-polymer Electrochromic Film Characterization using Bipotentiostatic Control
E. Unur, J-H. Jung, R. J. Mortimer and J. R. Reynolds
Chem. Mater., 2008, 20, 2328-2334.

Influence of the Film Thickness and Morphology on the Colorimetric Properties of Spray-Coated Electrochromic Disubstituted 3,4-Propylenedioxythiophene Polymers
R. J. Mortimer, K. R. Graham, C. R. G. Grenier and J. R. Reynolds
ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces, 2009, 1, 2269-2276.

Quantification of Colour Stimuli through the Calculation of CIE Chromaticity Coordinates and Luminance Data for Application to in situ Colorimetry Studies of Electrochromic Materials
R. J. Mortimer and T. S. Varley
Displays, 2011, 32, 35-44.

Novel Color-Reinforcing Electrochromic Device Based on Surface-Confined Ruthenium Purple and Solution-Phase Methyl Viologen
R. J. Mortimer and T. S. Varley
Chemistry of Materials, 2011, 23, 4077-4082.

Electrochromic Materials
R. J. Mortimer
Annual Review of Materials Research, 2011, 41, 241-266.

External activities

  • Member of the RSC Committee for Accreditation and Validation, 2008 – 2012
  • RSC ChemNet Ambassador from 2011
  • External Examiner for undergraduate programmes at Nottingham Trent University, 2013 – 2017
  • Past External Examiner for undergraduate programmes at Anglia Ruskin University, Manchester Metropolitan University and De Montfort University
  • Past Member of the RSC Education Division Council
  • Past Committee member of the RSC Applied Solid State Chemistry and Electrochemistry Groups


Teaching responsibilities:

  • CMA001 Energetics and Rates of Change – lectures, tutorials and laboratory classes
  • CMA004 Chemical and Phase Equilibria – lectures, tutorials and laboratory classes 
  • CMB007 Advanced Kinetics and Quantum Mechanics – laboratory classes 
  • CMB009 Solutions, Surfaces and Interfaces – laboratory classes
  • CMD110 Physical/Radiochemistry Option  – electrochemistry lectures and laboratory classes 
  • Module organiser for CMA001, CMA004, CMB009, CMB012 
  • Programme Director for undergraduate Chemistry