Department staff

Dr Iain A Wright

Photo of Dr Iain A Wright

Lecturer in Molecular Materials Chemistry

Dr Wright graduated from the University of Strathclyde in 2007 (MSci Chemistry) and remained at Strathclyde to complete his PhD, advised by Professor Peter J. Skabara, for which he was awarded the Professor David Sherrington FRS prize. His studies during Autumn 2008 were conducted at the Université de Montreal in Quebec, Canada in the group of Will G. Skene.  In April 2011 he began his first postdoctoral appointment in the group of Professors Edwin C. Constable and Catherine E. Housecroft at the Universität Basel, Switzerland. He primarily worked on the EU funded project HYSENS synthesising small molecules sensitive to trace quantities of a number of ionic species in solution for incorporation into nanoparticulate assemblies and microfluidic arrays for medical diagnostic and cleanroom applications.   Alongside this he assisted in a number of electrochemical investigations focussed on copper(I) based dyes for environmentally benign dye-sensitised solar cells and iridium(III) complexes for light-emitting electrochemical cells.

In August 2013 he returned to the UK for a second postdoctoral appointment with Professor Martin R. Bryce at Durham University synthesising short oligomers of electron-rich and electron-poor heterocycles for organic light emitting devices exploiting exciplex emission and delayed fluorescence.  

In November 2016 he was appointed as a Lecturer in Chemistry at Loughborough University where his research focusses upon the synthesis and application of functional organic and organometallic molecules for energy applications.

  • Functional pi-systems
  • Organic optoelectronics
  • Molecular spintronics
  • Coordination chemistry
  • Heterocyclic chemistry
  • Electrochemistry
  • Photophysics

Module Leader:

  • CMC003 Physical Chemistry Advanced

I also teach on

  • CMB105 Energetics and Equilibria II: Surfaces and Interfaces
  • CMB107 Chemistry Option: Polymer Chemistry
  • CMC003 Physical Chemistry Advanced: Electrochemistry
  • Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry