Aeronautical and Automotive Engineering

Postgraduate Research

PhD Studentships: EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Gas Turbine Aerodynamics

Loughborough University, School of Aeronautical, Automotive, Chemical and Materials Engineering

Applications are invited for PhD study in the Centre for Doctoral Training in Gas Turbine Aerodynamics located within the Rolls-Royce University Technology Centre at Loughborough University.

The CDT in Gas Turbine Aerodynamics is a four year programme.  Year one comprises of study at the University of Cambridge for a Master’s degree in Gas Turbine Aerodynamics.  This is followed by a three-year industrially-focused PhD project at Loughborough University.  PhD topics will be developed during the first year but will be relevant to current and future technologies being developed by, for example, Rolls-Royce. See more details

Several four-year studentships are available with funding for UK students and EU students who have studied full-time for three years in the UK, covering tuition fees and an annual tax-exempt stipend of £18,748, which includes an additional industry top-up of £4,223 (2017/2018 intake).  Further student eligibility information is available from the EPSRC.

Entry into this exciting new programme is competitive and will take account of qualifications, aspirations and experience.  Successful applicants are likely to have an engineering background with some specialisation in fluid mechanics and thermodynamics; however students from related fields will also be considered.  To be eligible students must have, or be expected to gain, the minimum of 2:1 honours degree from a UK University or an equivalent standard from an overseas university.

Non UK applicants must meet the minimum English language requirements.

The next intake will be in October 2018 and the final deadline by which applications must be submitted is 29th June 2018.  However, applications are continuously reviewed and prospective students are encouraged to apply as soon as possible.

Enquiries about the CDT at Loughborough University should be made to:

Sharon Hayward-Fryer

CDT Administrator

Dept. Aeronautical and Automotive Engineering

Loughborough University, LE11 3TU, UK


Applications for this programme should be made on the standard graduate admissions form, stating course code EGEGR5 (MRes in Gas Turbine Aerodynamics).  In the Research Proposal section of the form you will need to state Loughborough as your chosen University for the PhD phase of the CDT. 

Information about Loughborough University and the Rolls-Royce University Technology Centre can be found at: