T S Shipman Prizes 2002

Lindsey Ann Davidson and Sarah Selway received the T S Shipman Prizes for their voluntary work in and around the town.

Lindsey worked with people who have special needs at Shepshed's White Acres and Loughborough's Mencap facilities by helping residents with their day to day tasks and accompanying them outside their centres. Due to commitments she was unable to attend the award ceremony.

Sarah receiving her award.Sarah was nominated for volunteer work with the Loughborough Students' Community Action group, which enables students to participate in a range of voluntary activities in the local community. She recently set up a tea and games afternoon for local residents at the St Peters Community Centre which has proved to be a great success.

Pictured are Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ron McCaffer, the Mayor of Charnwood, Coun Debbie Green, and Alan Forsdick, Vice-Chair of Charnwood CVS Board of Trustees, CNF with winner Sarah Selway.


Group picture at the award ceremony.


Attending the award ceremony for Sarah were also members from the Loughborough Students' Dance Club, Hannah Robinson, Kim Foster and Jackie Barber, whose involvement with the local community include working with Charnwood Council in 'Outreach', a scheme that allows children to explore different activities during school holidays.



Secretary to Prizes Committee
July 2002
Copyright (c) Loughborough University. All rights reserved.