University Prizes awarded 2010-2011


Sir Robert Martin University Prize (£1,500 plus a commemorative medal)

Winner – Roberto Braganza, School of Mathematics


Roberto was awarded this prize for his very good academic performance, the wide range of non-academic activities which he has engaged in both within and outside the University and the voluntary work which he has carried out during his time as a student, in particular the exceptional monies raised for charities.

Sir Robert Martin Faculty Prizes

The Sir Robert Martin Faculty Prize is awarded to students who not only perform well academically but who are also high achievers in non-academic persuits during their studies (such as sporting achievements, fundraising for charities and voluntary work).

Engineering (£500)

Fahd Banakhar, Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering

Social Sciences and Humanities (two prizes of £500)

Claire O'Reilly, School of Business and Economics and,

Stacey Balsdon, Department of Geography


Ede and Ravenscroft Travelling Scholarship (£1,000)

Winner – Georgina Court, Department of English and Drama
Adam was awarded this scholarship to help fund travel to India to volunteer at the SKSN School for children with severe disabilities.

View Georgina's report

John Guest Phillips Memorial Travelling Scholarship (two £500 scholarships or one £1,000 scholarship )

Winner – Adrien Mazeau, Department of Civil and Building Engineering
Adrien was awarded this scholarship for travel to Ghana to conduct a pilot study on sanitation for the urban poor.

View Adrien's report

Winner – Matthew Standell, Department of Geography
Fangjin was awarded this scholarship for travel to the University Centre in Svalbard, Norway.

View Matthew's report

Lilian Elizabeth Bowmaker Bursary

Winner – Daniel O'Flynn, Chemistry
Daniel was awarded this bursary to attend the British Science Festival.

View Daniel's report

Loughborough College of Education Commemorative Awards (total of £800)

Winner – Jennie Morley, Loughborough Design School

View Jennie's report

T S Shipman Prize (up to a total of £800)

Winner – Amelia Temple, Social Sciences

Winner - Stacey Balsdon, Geography

Hannah Community Prize (total of £200)

Winners – John Antoniou, Information Science

Ursula Lockley Travel Bursary (£600)

Winner – James Key, Loughborough Design School

View James' report